How to Apply for a Hawaii Marriage License
A marriage license issued by the state of Hawaii is required if you wish to be legally married. Since the start of the Pandemic in 2020 it is required that couples submit an application online before showing up at the State Health Department or to an authorized licensing agent. This allows the interaction to be a brief as possible for everyone’s safety.
Once the application is submitted online the couple then goes together to show proof of ID (drivers license, State ID, or passport) and will be issued the marriage license which will be valid for 30 days. Marriage Licenses from other states cannot be used in Hawaii. If you are already married and want to renew your wedding vows then no license is required.
APPLYING FOR MARRIAGE LICENSE ONLINE:
Hawaii Marriage or Civil Union License Application Fee: $60.
Online Processing Fee: $5
Application Website: https://emrs.ehawaii.gov/emrs/public/home.html
- There are places on the application to fill out each persons full legal name before marriage and after marriage. Be sure you fill out this correctly and make no spelling errors. You will be legally changing your names to whatever is on the form.
- Choose Kimberly Marie Crinella in the box for Minister (Officiate). If you filled it out and choose no name or another officiate I am able to update your marriage license to my information when I certify the marriage after the ceremony.
- The address of the ceremony location is not required when applying for the license. I can fill it in when I certify your marriage after the ceremony.
COUPLE MUST PICK UP THE MARRIAGE LICENSE TOGETHER AFTER SUBMITTING APPLICATION ONLINE
PICK UP LICENSE FROM STATE HEALTH DEPARTMENT:
The wedding couple MUST personally appear before a licensing agent together and show proper photo ID to pick up your license Worksheet which is required by the minister/wedding officiate the on the day of the service.
The Honolulu marriage license office is located in the State Health Department building, called “Kinau Hale”, at 1250 Punchbowl Street, Honolulu, Hawaii 96813. Phone: (808) 586-4545. Hours of service: 8 am to 3:30 pm.
OR PICK UP LICENSE FROM LICENSED AGENT
Another option to pick up the license is through a Licensed Agent which is available by appointment only and they are typically available after hours and on weekends. You are required to complete the license application online prior to meeting with the Licensed Agent. For a list of Licensed Agents visit
GETTING YOUR MARRIAGE CERTIFICATE WHICH IS LEGAL PROOF OF MARRIAGE
The Hawaii Department of Health will email you in 2-3 business days after your wedding to let you know your marriage has been entered into the State of Hawaii Book of Records and will provide a link to a downloadable and printable Marriage Certificate which is legal proof of marriage.
Please make note of the Locator ID # that will be on your receipt when you pay. This will be needed if you would like to access a copy of your marriage certificate online. A hard copy is also mailed but can take several weeks to receive. Use the Marriage Certificate to make name changes on accounts and legal documents, to add your spouse to your medical benefits, or to apply for housing (if in the military).
Click here for a full list of what needs to be updated now that you are married once you receive your marriage certificate.
BRING YOUR LICENSE ON THE DAY OF YOUR CEREMONY
Remember to present your official Hawaii Marriage License to your Marriage Performer. The officiant is not obligated to perform the service without the license document (usually pink or white). Verify the spelling of both your names on the marriage license. However it is spelled on the document will be your legal name after your marriage is submitted.
PROCESSING TIME AND FEES
A newly married couple receives one (1) certified copy of the marriage certificate at no extra charge, which will be sent to the couple by mail (60-120 days) after the marriage has been performed. If a certified copy of the marriage certificate is needed sooner than this, you can apply for one or more additional certified copies using the green form you received with the Marriage License. A certified copy of the marriage certificate cannot be generated until the license is posted into the Vital Statistics System.
A certified copy is automatically sent after 120 days if you don’t ask for the expedited copy. State of Hawaii charges a $10 fee to issue a certified copy of the Certificate of Marriage prior to the normal period of 120 days. Once the license is entered into the system, you can pick-up the copy in person or have it mailed to you in 7-21 days. The State provides a green order form with the license.
COUPLES COMING FROM OUTSIDE THE USA TO GET MARRIED IN HAWAII
For residents of foreign countries, an Apostille is available for $1. This is a separate fee and cannot be combined with the expedite fee. An Apostille is a special type of notarization of the Marriage Certificate so that the marriage is recognized by foreign countries who are members of the 1961 Hague Convention Treaty. Click here for a list of these countries which require an Apostille and check with your own country to see what their process is for updating your legal status and making name changes due to marriage.
Things to Know About Applying for a Marriage License in Hawaii
- There are no state residence or U.S. citizenship requirements.
- Blood tests are not required.
- The legal age to marry is 18 years for both applicants.
- Applicants of 16 or 17 years of age who wish to marry require the written consent of both parents, legal guardian, or the family court. The parents or legal guardian do not have to be residents of the state. Consent forms may be obtained from a marriage license agent.
- Applicants of 15 years of age who wish to marry require the written consent of both parents or legal guardian, and the written approval of a judge of the family court. The parents or legal guardian do not have to be residents of the state. Consent forms may be obtained from a marriage license agent.
- Proof of age is required. A certified copy of a birth certificate must be presented for anyone 18 years of age or under. A valid photo I.D. like passport, State ID or driver’s license may be presented for anyone 19 years of age or over.
- If previously married, proof of original divorce decree or death certificate needs to be presented to the marriage agent by the applicant if the divorce or death was final within 30 days of applying for a marriage license.
- Cousins may marry. However, the blood relationship between the prospective applicants cannot be closer than first cousins.